UCSD School of Medicine
Principles of Community Message from School of Medicine Deans
February 26, 2010

To the UCSD School of Medicine Community:

We join Chancellor Marye Anne Fox, all of the Vice Chancellors and College Provosts, and Chief Diversity Officer Sandra Daley in condemning all forms of racism on the UCSD campus, and the despicable incidents over the past two weeks. 

We encourage our community at the School of Medicine to be aware of how the main campus has responded to these events.  A summary of what has happened, what is being done, and what you can do, can be found at http://battlehate.ucsd.edu/.   

As administrators overseeing medical education, we strive not only to provide outstanding education and training, but to do so in an environment that is supportive of students from all backgrounds.  Indeed, this is a part of our larger framework for diversity, summarized in the UCSD Principles of Community, http://blink.ucsd.edu/HR/policies/POC/principles-of-community.html.  As articulated in those principles, “we are committed to promoting and supporting a community where all people can work and learn together in an atmosphere free of abusive or demeaning treatment.” 

We encourage students and trainees to help ensure that these principles are practiced. Please contact any of us with concerns you may have.

Sincerely,

Carolyn J. Kelly, M.D., Associate Dean for Admissions and Student Affairs
ckelly@ucsd.edu

Jess Mandel, M.D., Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
jmandel@ucsd.edu

Lindia Willies-Jacobo, M.D., Assistant Dean for Diversity and Community Partnerships
lwillies@ucsd.edu

Christine Moutier, M.D., Assistant Dean for Student Affairs
cmoutier@ucsd.edu

Maria C. Savoia, M.D., Vice Dean for Medical Education
msavoia@ucsd.edu

David A. Brenner, M.D., Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences and Dean, School of Medicine
dbrenner@ucsd.edu



Last Modified 02/26/2010
Developed by the UCSD School of Medicine, Office of Educational Technology
Please direct all comments and questions to the webmaster
Copyright 2010, University of California, San Diego
All rights reserved